AT MIDNIGHT

island-4
THE PATH TO BAT ISLAND

I am hoping I shall sleep soon. Round about now I think of the shattering things. Now and then I think of the major rock bottoms I have had in life and then I weary and despair and sometimes – my heart simply aches and breaks.

I guess I was expecting conversion at the level I experienced in Port Macquarie Hospital in 1985 and then the one that got me clean and sober in 1987. Each of them fired a great faith and sense of purpose in me and I guess I was expecting that this time – but it has not been like that.  There have been miles and miles of doubt and rebellion and fear.

The abyss has yawned most of the time and things which have worked for me before have not all worked this time.

I shed a tear for my own little children who had a wretched early childhood and whom I left. For the 1000kms between me and 2 of my loved ones.

I shed tears for losses and frights and not visiting and taking care of my Dad. For my sister and my niece .

Sometimes – all I am is a shattered shell. Something about coming back to Bellingen is bringing it on even more intensely. The path to Bat Island for one thing. And the streets of my town.  And then curiously on the other side of the Despair lies something sweet and kindly.

14939461_10154095665526342_5979086296028126814_o

Once there was a way,
To get back homeward.

Once there was a way
To get back home.

Sleep, pretty darling,
Dot not cry
And I will sing a lullaby.

Golden slumbers,
Fill your eyes
Smiles await you when you rise
Sleep pretty darling
Do not cry
And I will sing a lullaby.

Once there was a way
To get back homeward

Once there was a way
To get back home

Sleep, pretty darling
Do not cry
And I will sing a lullaby.

Songwriters
LENNON, JOHN WINSTON / MCCARTNEY, PAUL JAMES

Read more: Beatles – Golden Slumbers Lyrics | MetroLyrics

dscn9909
8 NOV 2016 NORTH BELLINGEN

Leave a Reply

